10 Things About Us

Here's where you can introduce yourself and find out about the Joe Hill Message Board

10 Things About Us

Postby Tay on Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:34 am

I thought it might be fun if we all posted 10 things about ourselves so we might better get to know each other. If you want to post more than 10, don't let anyone stop you. I just thought 10 was a good number to start with.

  1. I'm 37 years old.
  2. I was a floral designer, now I'm webmistress, host and designer.
  3. I have been perpetually engaged since 1997 (neither of us is in any great hurry).
  4. I am owned by 2 cats.
  5. I'm not a fan of the "isms" (racism, sexism, elitism, etc.).
  6. Bad writing and bad editing drive me apeshitty.
  7. I love yoga.
  8. I believe in standing up for your principles. No qualifiers. Your real friends will always respect your opinion, even if they don't agree with it. If not, they aren't really friends.
  9. I like to laugh.
  10. I LOVE music. Everything about music.


Who's next? :D
Beware the March of Ideas ~ Neil Gaiman

The Mile
Tay
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Narda on Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:53 am

OK, I'll play.

1. I'm 39
2. Married for almost 15 years (April 24th)
3. I have two biological sons ages 17 and almost 13 (Apr 22), one stepson who will be 25 in May and a daughter in law who is 22.
4. I share my life with my two dogs, one cat and I guess you could say one grand-dog.
5. I work in several places including a municipal office, RCMP detachment, and health centre doing anything from administrative work, to janitorial. (yes I wear several hats)
6. I hate liars.
7. I enjoy badminton and going to the gym which is all a recent thing since I started weight watchers almost 12 weeks ago.
8. I love to cross stitch.
9. I love books.
10. I'm short. :)

Hi Tay.
the little men who live behind my eyes... and scream directly at my brain... told me to tell you hello.
Narda
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:18 pm
Location: Vancouver Island

Postby Tay on Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:56 am

10. I'm short. :D


Me TOOOOOOO!!! :wink:

Hi Narda!
Beware the March of Ideas ~ Neil Gaiman

The Mile
Tay
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:52 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby val04463 on Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:56 pm

Me Next...Me Next

1. I am 51 years old.
2. I have 5 cats,4 dogs,19 chickens,6 ducks,1 goose, 10 Guinea Fowl, 2 goats
3. I LOVE animals
4. I have been married 31 years
5. I have a daughter 29
6. My son is 28
7. I substitute teach, work part-time as a US Postal Rural Carrier.
8. I love living in Rural Maine
9. My passion is food and cooking.
10. My downfall is eating.
Image
val04463
 
Posts: 991
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Milo, Maine

Postby LauraK on Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:57 pm

Hi Lisa and Narda-

1. I'm 40- have been for 3 days. :)
2. I'm married for going on 17 years- together almost 21
3. I'm the proud mother of an 8 yr old son, Jacob
4. I'm a former hairstylist (are we ever really former??) who is now a stay- at-home-mom
5. I love to cook, bake and decorate cakes
6. I love reading and movies, especially horror
7. I change my own oil
8. I love my dog, Emmie, when she's not tearing around the yard at
1,000 mph ripping up grass
9. On hot days you'll find me in the backyard, swimming
10. When I win the lottery- I'm getting all of my 'net friends together for
a huge party. For real.

LK
Image

"Friends are the family you choose for yourself."
LauraK
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:04 am
Location: MI

Postby Mercy on Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:06 pm

Oh what the hell.

1. I'm 26
2. I'm in a steady relationship for two years now
3. I've been divorced for three years
4. I work at the front desk of a hotel
5. I love to cook
6. I own one dog, and she's nuts, I swear she has ADHD
7. I hope to one day be a published writer
8. I love the mountains here in Colorado, hope to stay here all my life
9. I love to travel
10. I love reading
Mercy
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:49 pm

Postby mayfayre on Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:33 pm

odey-kaybe

my name is mayfayre, most folks just call me may. 8)

(1) i'm thirty plus 3
(2) my husband (matthew) and i have been together for ten years
(3) hubby's five years my junior (raawr)
(4) i have ten nieces (kandie, lacey, tiffany, jessica, annmarie, jamie, shelly, kris, madeline), six nephews (david, josh, tim, dylen, cole, jordan), one great-niece (talia), and one great-nephew (blake).
(5) i don't have children, yet, but was adopted by three cats (mathilda, doodle, and dixie)
(6) i live in california and i love and hate it here
(7) i am a teacher-be afraid, be very afraid :twisted:
(8) i too bake and cook a great deal-my family always seems to be at my house
(9) i'm an avid gardener
(10) my dad is the best man that i have ever known
Image
mayfayre
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:16 pm

Postby mommyd on Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:35 pm

1. I am 36 years old.
2. My birthday is Nov.12, 1970 and I love being a Scorpio!
3. I have 6 wonderful kids....3 girls ages 16, 8, and 4.....3 boys ages 16, 14, and 12.
4. I met my wonderful husband of 6 years Rackat, on the internet.
5. I am an Insurance Coordinator for a medical clinic (10 Drs and 2 PA's)
6. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE hard rock music!
7. My fav band is Def Leppard and my fav musical artist is Prince
8. I have 4 tattoo's and want more!
9. I love to read and watch horror
10. I love to read true crime books

d :D
Style is loving yourself 'till everyone else does 2
~ Prince

Image
mommyd
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:31 pm
Location: Texas

Postby Matty on Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:50 pm

I can do this:

I am 37
My birthday is coming up on May 2
I have 3 kids...18,16,14 and I am going to be a grandpa next year
Me and my wife met at our company Christmas party
I am a cooperate trainer for a small local bank
I own and operate thedarktower.com--a fan based website in development
I am a big fan of bluegrass
My earlobes don't match
I am HUGE fan of Stephen King and now Joe
I commute an hour one way everday and listen to books on CD
Matty
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:41 am
Location: Western Colorado

Postby mayfayre on Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:04 pm

spamming to say that i'm sorry about your parents divorce poisonlily. my parents are almost completed with their divorce as well-they were married for almost 30 years. took almost 3 years to do so, but it's almost over. :(
Image
mayfayre
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:16 pm

Postby mayfayre on Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:09 pm

ugh, it's awful. in bag of bones, king describes greif as a drunk at a party that keeps coming back around for one more hug-how right he was, huh? my dad's gone on a few dates and though i want him to be happy, i can't help but want him to be happy with my mom, and i know that's selfish, but there you are.
Image
mayfayre
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:16 pm

Postby Patrick on Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:25 pm

1. I got my name from my birthday.
2. I'm happily married.
3. I have two small boys, a kindergartener and a preschooler.
4. My parents have been divorced for... something like 33 years.
5. I completed my first half marathon and my first full marathon at age 41.
6. That was last year.
7. Only one tattoo. No desire to get any more.
8. I love to travel, preferably internationally.
9. I can't truly imagine living anywhere long term other than the West Coast.
10. Independent craft breweries have my deepest gratitude.
Last edited by Patrick on Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"Open your mind to the endless possibilities of the human soul."
- Joe Hill, Heart Shaped Box

"And now," cried Max, "let the wild rumpus start!"
- Maurice Sendak, Where The Wild Things Are
Patrick
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:47 pm
Location: Monterey Bay Area

Postby KingoftheHill on Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:33 pm

These are cool!

1. I'm 40
2. I've been married for almost 20 years and every day is better than the last.
3. I love music--rock mostly, but will tolerate anything. :p
4. 2 cats
5. I served in the first Gulf War
6. I love to laugh. I love to make people laugh.
7. My first car was a Pinto stationwagon
8. I'm the only of 4 children to get a high school diploma
9. I'm a HUGE Stephen King fan. Dark Tower especially.
10. I like birdwatching.
KingoftheHill
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:54 pm
Location: Oregon

Postby IT on Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:36 pm

Ok, I'll play.

1.I'm 51 and married almost 34 years
2. I LOVE to read! And have since the age of 3 1/2-4 years old.
3.I'm an American who lives in Canada
4.I LOVE travelling
5.I have 3 sons, 3 grandsons,3 male dogs(Dalmation, Boxer, Beagle) and 1 daughter-in-law
6. I love gardening
7.I LOVE all things glitter and shiney. I'm sure I was a Raven/Crow in a previous life
8.I'm addicted to Avon and e~Bay
9. I LOVE clothes!!!
10.I am geographicaly,driving direction challenged.
The BubbleSlinger
IT
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:53 pm

Postby bookworm101 on Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:09 pm

ok my turn

I'm 45 or is it 46 I don't count them anymore.

I've been married 4 years (2nd marriage ) but I've known him for over 27 years.

I have one daughter she is 25 and gorgeous. She is also my best friend.

I have one granddaughter she is 14 months and my heart and soul.

One dog"Lilly" rescued mix lab

One 25 pound orange cat "Ceasar" he lets me live with him.

I'm an officer with Homeland Security.

Besides my family I also love books, animals,and the ocean.

My husband says I'm a natural born peacekeeper, and harmless smartass. :roll:

oh yea! I'm tall 5.10
bookworm101
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: southeastern

Next

Return to Come on in and say Hello


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest