Horns in the classroom

The devil is in the details.

Horns in the classroom

Postby April_Freeman on Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:24 pm

I'm a sophomore English teacher and a huge Joe Hill fan. My students love to read and they always want to hear everything about the books I'm reading. Last year, while reading Heart Shaped Box, (it happened to be the monthly selection at our local library's book club,) my students wanted a daily update, they were like sponges. Soon I had at least a dozen or more kids with a copy in their hands. Some of these kids did book reports (7) on HSB. They are all waiting for this day. I have my copy of Horns already. I'm very excited to start reading, and to discuss the reading with my kids. I get a lot of criticism because I don't censor the reading choices of my students. I hear them speak and their language is worse than anything they could read in a book. As long as their parents give permission I let them read what they like because they are reading. Reading is learning. Will I get a raised eyebrow for using Horns as a learning tool in the classroom? I hope I catch hell!
April_Freeman

Re: Horns in the classroom

Postby foxslady on Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:50 pm

You wouldn't have gotten raised eyebrows from, I had to give permission for my kids to read Stephen king books for school. They took one book from my youngest son ( he was in 8th grade) said he couldn't have it back and they were calling me. They did and I ripped them a new one, it was my book and I had suggested he read it. After that there were no problems.
wrinkles are left over smiles
foxslady

Postby Betsy_Boo on Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:39 pm