hacked site: how to get some of the stuff back

All about the site.

hacked site: how to get some of the stuff back

Postby meridith on Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:44 pm

wow on the hacking thing.....what you can do to retrieve some of the lost information is google it......goggle caches info. but you want to do it sooner than later before google recaches the site:

Google cache of joes' blogs

I would have posted this in the comments section of the blog but the comments are shut off..good luck
meridith

Postby meridith on Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:46 pm

oh yeah......and don't forget to click on the "cache" part of the link that google pulls up-if you go to the real link its gone.

http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/features.html#cached
meridith

Postby joe_hill on Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:09 pm

Meredith,

Thanks for the tip. That's very cool, and very helpful. I'm not an expert on the 'net, but I think I can use this to partially restore some of what was lost. We'll see...
joe_hill
Site Admin

Postby Nerak on Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:24 pm

Best of luck, would hate to see it all fade away...
Nerak

Postby Dana_Jean on Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:49 pm

Is hacking a Web site the same as someone physically vandalizing a place? They just mess stuff up? I'm very sorry about this. :cry:
Dana_Jean

Postby joe_hill on Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:10 pm

S'okay... no worries. The guy has found some kind of weakness to exploit in the Word Press platform, and I'm not savvy enough to block him right now. The site is down, temporarily. We'll get it fixed after the New Year.

Meredith was very good to point out that Google has a cache of all the posts on Joehillfiction to date. Shane went through and saved them all, so with a little elbow grease, we should be able to repair and repost a lot of what was lost. If anyone else had the time and inclination, and wanted to visit Google's cache, and make back-ups of the lost pages themselves, it might come in handy.