Crisis, What Crisis?

The country's goin' to hell... and you know how to fix it! Tell us how here.

Re: Crisis, What Crisis?

Postby doodoobird on Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:06 am

Yes they do. But you see, I am becoming a police officer. All I need to get in the academy is three years in the military or 60 college credits. I have 5 years in the military and much more then the required 60. Cops in CT (where I will be working. Fuck the NYPD. Tough job and they get paid SHIT) get paid out the ahole. Starting at 65K??????? A rookie????? With up to 25 K in overtime???? And you get an increase in pay every year??? Great deal. The thing is, education in law enforcement these days is the best way to get that promotion. So yeah, I got a jump start on the competition because of the college credits I DO have, and the fact that I am a veteran, but somewhere down the road when I go for, say, Leutenant, detective, Captain, it will really help to have a masters degree. So I ask myself, why not get it now????? While its easy. Already in school. Dont have too many responsibilities. If the lack of money is ever an issue (lack of a REAL job and all) I can always move back in with my parents, who I love dearly (really, mom and dad are great. Dont bother me at all. Expect the whole akwardness when going bump in the night. Especially when they sleep directly above me.), now would be the ideal time to do it. Down the road, as a full time police officer, it will be way too much of a hassle to finish school. And it wont be practical at the pace I would have to go. So what do I do what do I do. Part of me wants to do the long term thing. The other part is to end this part of my life and start the next phase. Shit, start working now and I'll be receiving a 50% pension at 45. Not bad. Plus, if I start the police job like A.S.A.P I can get a house. You see, i saved a lot of money from my time in the Army. I have excellent credit, too. The only thing keeping me from getting a house right now is the fa